Back to Search

The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

AUTHOR Paul, Annie Murphy
PUBLISHER Mariner Books (06/08/2021)
PRODUCT TYPE Hardcover (Hardcover)

Description
A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.

That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us-- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

Show More
Product Format
Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780544947665
ISBN-10: 0544947665
Binding: Hardback or Cased Book (Sewn)
Content Language: English
More Product Details
Page Count: 352
Carton Quantity: 12
Product Dimensions: 6.30 x 1.50 x 9.06 inches
Weight: 1.28 pound(s)
Feature Codes: Bibliography, Index, Price on Product
Country of Origin: US
Subject Information
BISAC Categories
Science | Life Sciences - Neuroscience
Science | Cognitive Neuroscience & Cognitive Neuropsychology
Science | Personal Growth - Success
Dewey Decimal: 128
Library of Congress Control Number: 2020039127
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
publisher marketing
A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.

That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us-- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

Show More

Author: Paul, Annie Murphy
Annie Murphy Paul is a magazine journalist and book author who writes about the biological and social sciences. Born in Philadelphia, she graduated from Yale University and from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. A former senior editor at "Psychology Today" magazine, she was awarded the Rosalynn Carter Fellowship for Mental Health Journalism. Her writing has appeared in the "New York Times Magazine", the "New York Times Book Review", "Slate", "Discover", "Health", "O: The Oprah Magazine", and many other publications. She is the author of "Origins: How the Nine Months Before Birth Shape the Rest of Our "Lives and "The Cult of Personality: How Personality Tests Are Leading Us to Miseducate Our Children, Mismanage Our Companies, and Misunderstand Ourselves".
Show More
List Price $28.00
Your Price  $19.32
Hardcover